Blog Tour: The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre by Robin Talley

Synopsis

It’s easy not to fall in love, right?

Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything. What she doesn’t have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off love until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.

Of course, Mel didn’t count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn’t expect Odile to be sweet, and funny and care as much about the play’s success as Mel. Which means that Melody McIntyre’s only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love.

A hilarious, heartwarming and empowering read, perfect for fans of Pitch Perfect, Love Simon and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Review

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre by Robin Talley was exactly what I needed after a bit of a reading slump.

I’ve only read one other book by the author – Pulp – which I really loved, so when I saw the opportunity to join the Blog Tour for The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre I just had to. Especially, being someone who absolutely adores Theatre, I really couldn’t resist a LGBTQ+ YA RomCom set in the theatre department of a High School.

I’m not going to lie, I really left this one until the last possible minute to read, because due to this pandemic my ADHD and Anxiety have been all over the place. I’ve started so many books in the past couple of months, but I just couldn’t block it down. However, I gave my word that I will be part of the Blog Tour so many weeks ago and one thing that gets me going it’s the fear of disappointing people.

With this in mind, on Sunday night I decided to pick up this book and I’m glad I did because I couldn’t stop reading until I was done!

Not sure if it was the fact that I’ve been missing theatre so much since this cursed pandemic started or that it has the cutest f/f love story, but The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre was the book that I really needed right now. (So, thank you past Ana for saying yes to this blog tour!)

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre by Robin Talley, plays on theatre superstitions. Any theatre geek knows how you should not wish Good Luck but instead say Break a Leg, and how you should not mention Macbeth in a theatre (unless it’s during the performance of said play). If you disrespect the superstitions, really bad things can happen to those working in the theatre. So everyone, even the non-believers, usually respect the superstitions. Unless your name is Nick the Dick…

What I also loved about the book, was how it was divided like a play, by Acts and then with scene heads as a way to represent a new chapter. The writing was a bit more simple from the one from Pulp, but I think with how theatre techie it is, the simplicity actually made the the story flow so much better.

Melody, our main character, isn’t the instant likeable character, at least not for me. (I wonder if it was due to our difference of opinions when it comes to liking actors and her Musical Theatre preferences! ahah) But, she really grows on you and I love how she knows what she loves and just works hard for it. Maybe a bit too hard, but what teenager doesn’t just go overboard with something they’re passionate about? I sure did!

I think some of the lessons that you can get from Melody’s story is that the greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return, and that one can’t just throw away their shot.

This book actually made me shed a few tiers. It could be because I’m emotionally misérable since this pandemic started, but I like to think it was because I actually started to relate to Melody and her love story. It was spot on what I need to read right now, and I’m so happy I had the pleasure to be part of the Blog Tour.

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre by Robin Talley, is perfect for fans of Leah On the Offbeat and Musical Theatre geeks who also like Pitch Perfect and Glee. Out this Thursday!

Rating: 🍍🍍🍍🍍

Thanks HQ Stories for sending me a e-ARC of The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre in exchange for my honest review.

Check out the rest of the Blog Tour!

One thought on “Blog Tour: The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre by Robin Talley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s